The Cannabis Council of Canada Announces Newly Elected Board of Directors

Published: May 10, 2019

The Cannabis Council of Canada Announces Newly Elected Board of Directors

After a very successful first year as a unified national industry association, and with the framework of cannabis legalization firmly established, the Cannabis Council of Canada (“C3”) is pleased to announce its newly elected Board of Directors (the “Board”). As the association embarks on its second year of operations, the Board is tasked with supporting its members and continuing to work with key stakeholders on the advancement of the legal cannabis industry in Canada and around the world.

C3’s general membership represents almost 90% of Canada’s legal cannabis industry, and has elected the following individuals to the Board:

Megan McCrae – Aphria Inc., Board Chair
John Fowler – The Supreme Cannabis Company, Vice Chair, Adult Use
Philippe Lucas – Tilray, Vice Chair, Medical
Darren Karasiuk – Aurora Cannabis Inc.
Alison Gordon – 48 North Cannabis Co.
Jeff Jacobson – Cronos Group
Jeff Ryan – Canopy Growth Corporation
Ray Gracewood – Organigram
Isabelle Robillard – HEXO Corp.
Gerald Proctor – Sundial Growers Inc.
Ruth Chun – Newstrike/UP Cannabis

The board members bring a wealth of diverse experience in the following areas: scientific research, marketing and communications, strategy and innovation, market analysis, business development, government relations, policy development, law and non-profit.

“I am very honoured to have been selected by my esteemed peers to fulfill this very important role. In my first year as a board member, I saw the tremendous impact that C3 has made on this industry. I look forward to working closely with this diverse and experienced group of individuals to continue to drive positive change in this fast-paced industry while adding even more value for our members,” said Megan McCrae, Board Chair.

“Congratulations to our new chair, Megan McCrae. With her leadership, the Cannabis Council of Canada will continue to play its fundamental role in our industry’s growth, shaping our sector here in Canada and setting the global standard for cannabis regulation. I am excited to continue our advocacy on behalf of all Canadian patients and consumers as we show how a regulated environment should operate,” said John Fowler, Vice Chair, Adult Use.

“During this first successful year of adult cannabis legalization, I look forward to working with Megan and the new C3 Board and Medical Committee to ensure the needs and voices of Canada’s critically and chronically ill patients are heard, with a focus on reducing costs and improving access.” said Philippe Lucas, Vice Chair, Medical.

The Board also announces the departure of its Executive Director, Allan Rewak, who will be leaving C3 to join Emerald Health Therapeutics. During his term, Allan played a pivotal role in unifying Licensed Producers into one singular national association and was instrumental in supporting C3 members in their journey towards legalization. The Board thanks Allan for his dedicated service during this transformational year and wishes him all the best in his new role. Recruitment efforts are underway to secure a new Executive Director, who will be announced in due time.